Zimbabwe Profiles Local,News Full List of Zimbabwe Cabinet & Government Ministers 2023

Full List of Zimbabwe Cabinet & Government Ministers 2023

Full List of Zimbabwe Cabinet & Government Ministers 2023 post thumbnail image

The Cabinet of Zimbabwe underwent significant changes in September 2023 following President Emmerson Mnangagwa’s announcement of his top Cabinet members and government ministers following the August 2023 Harmonised Elections. This reshuffle introduced several new faces and notable changes within the government structure. Here is an overview of the key appointments and developments:

Table of Contents

Here is the Full List of Zimbabwe Cabinet & Government Ministers 2023

Ministry of Finance and Investment Promotion

Minister: Mthuli Ncube
Deputy Minister: David Kuda Mnangagwa

Former Finance Minister Mthuli Ncube was reinstated as the Minister of Finance and Investment Promotion. Notably, the Investment Promotion Agency, ZIDA, was placed directly under his Ministry.  David Kuda Mnangagwa, the president’s 34-year-old son,  was appointed as the Deputy Minister for Finance and Investment Promotion.


David Kudakwashe Mnangagwa

Zimbabwe’s Deputy Finance Minister David Kudakwashe Mnangagwa (Image Credit: LinkedIn)

Ministry of Mines and Mining Development

Minister: Zhemu Soda
Former Minister: Winston Chitando

Former Minister Winston Chitando was replaced by Zhemu Soda as the Minister of Mines and Mining Development.  Zhemu Soda was previously the minister of Energy and Power Development.


Ministry of Energy and Power Development

Minister:  Edgar Moyo
Former Minister: Zhemu Soda

Former Deputy Education Minister Edgar Moyo was appointed as the new Minister of Energy and Power Development.


Ministry of Industry and Commerce

Minister: Sthembiso Nyoni
Former Minister:

Sthembiso Nyoni, formerly the Women’s and SMEs Minister, was appointed as the new Minister of Industry and Commerce, surprising many.


Ministry of Information, Publicity, and Broadcasting Services

Minister: Jenfan Muswere
Former Minister: Monica Mutsvangwa

Former ICT Minister Jenfan Muswere was appointed as the new Minister of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services.  He replaced former Information Minister Monica Mutsvangwa, who was  moved to Women’s Affairs,

Minister of Justice, Legal, and Parliamentary Affairs

Minister: Ziyambi Ziyambi
Deputy Minister: Norbert Mazungunye

Ziyambi Ziyambi retained his position as the Minister of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs. Norbert Mazungunye was appointed as his deputy.

Ministry of Veterans of Liberation Struggle Affairs

Minister: Chris Mutsvangwa
Deputy Minister: Monica Mavhunga

Chris Mutsvangwa was appointed as the Minister of the  Veterans of Liberation Struggle Affairs, with Monica Mavhunga serving as his deputy.


Ministry of Sports, Recreation, Arts, and Culture

Minister: Kirsty Coventry
Deputy Minister: Emily Jesiah

Kirsty Coventry continues to serve as the Minister of Sports, Recreation, Arts, and Culture with Emily Jesiah serving as her deputy.


Ministry of Youth Empowerment Development and Vocational Training

Minister: Tino Machakaire

Deputy Minister: Junior Mupamhanga


Ministry of Environment, Climate and Wildlife:

Minister: Mangaliso Ndlovu


Ministry of Tourism and Hospitality:

Minister: Barbara Rwodzi

Deputy Minister: Tongai Mnangagwa


Full List of Zimbabwe Cabinet & Government Ministers 2023

Tongai Mnangagwa [Image Credit: Facebook/Tongai Mnangagwa]

Ministry of Defence:

Minister: Oppah Muchinguri


Ministry of Primary and Secondary Education:

Minister: Torerai Moyo


Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Trade:

Minister:  Frederick Shava


Ministry of Health and Child Care:

Minister: Douglas Mombeshora


Ministry of Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development:

Minister: Amon Murwira


Ministry of Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage:

Minister: Kazembe Kazembe


Ministry of Information Communication Technology (ICT):

Minister: Tatenda Mavetera


Full List of Zimbabwe Cabinet & Government Ministers 2023

Zimbabwe’s Minister of ICT Tatenda Mavetera at the opening of Parliament [Image Credit: Facebook/Tatenda Mavetera]

Ministry of Agriculture:

Minister: Anxious Masuka


Ministry of Local Government:

Minister: Winston Chitando


Ministry of National Housing:

Minister: Daniel Garwe


Ministry of Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare:

Minister: July Moyo


Ministry of Transport and Infrastructural Development:

Minister: Felix Mhona


Ministry of Women Affairs, Community, Small and Medium Enterprises Development:

Minister: Monica Mutsvangwa

Ministry of State Security

The position of Minister of State in Charge of State Security, previously held by Owen ‘Mudha’ Ncube, has remained vacant since his dismissal. Owen Ncube was reappointed as the Minister of State for Midlands.


Ministers Of State In The Offices Of The Vice Presidents

Minister of State in Vice President Gen. (Rtd) Chiwenga’s Office:

Evelyn Ndlovhu


Minister of State in Vice-President Mohadi’s Office

Davis Marapira


Ministers of State for Provincial Affairs

Minister of State for Bulawayo Metropolitan Province

Judith Ncube

Minister of State for Harare Metropolitan Province

Charles Tavengwa

Minister of State for Manicaland Province

Nokuthula Matsikenyere

Minister of State for Mashonaland Central Province

Christopher Magomo

Minister of State for Mashonaland East Province

Aplonia Munzverengwi

Minister of State for Mashonaland West Province

Marian Chombo

Minister of State for Masvingo Province

Ezra Chadzamira

Minister of State for Matabeleland North Province

Richard Moyo

Minister of State for Matabeleland South Province

Evelyn Ndlovu

Minister of State for Midlands Province

Owen Ncube

Non-Constituency Ministers

President Mnangagwa appointed seven non-constituency ministers from outside of parliament, including:

  • Kirsty Coventry
  • Mangaliso Ndlovu
  • Mthuli Ncube
  • Ziyambi Ziyambi
  • Amon Murwira
  • Anxious Masuka



  1. newzwire.live – Analysis: ED’s Cabinet: More like a reshuffle, with a sprinkle of family and old failures
  2. zimfact.org – Factsheet: Zimbabwe government ministers after 2023 elections
  3. veritaszim.net – List of Deputy Ministers

Leave a Reply

Related Post